Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim to Start First AI Faculty in Malaysia


  • When AI faculty is being set up at UTM by Malaysia for the first time on May 10th.
  • The expert AI team crafts the curricula after the students are matched with information technology industries. 
  • Anwar Ibrahim, the Prime Minister of Malaysia, has been contacted to be the officiator.

Malaysia will reveal its first Artificial Intelligence (AI) Faculty on May 10th, according to the Minister of Higher Education, Datuk Seri Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir. The symbolic launch will be conducted at the World Trade Centre Kuala Lumpur (WTCKL), with the honorable Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim officiating.

Malaysia’s pioneering AI faculty

The Faculty of Artificial Intelligence at UTM(Universiti Teknologi Malaysia) was the first place ever established, and some consortiums also work together with other universities.

However, it is an essential phase that they execute with utmost care; therefore, they choose to build a credible faculty team comprising external experts to boost the faculty’s achievement, Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir opined in a media interview after his appearances at the 2024 Jomn Masuk U (JMU) launch at the Seri Iskandar University Technology Mara campus.

2024 education roadshow

It was reported that Zambry had stated earlier approval for the JKPT committee. For a start, the first cohort begins their studies in October. He believed that AI and curriculum development should fulfill industrial needs/requirements. Apart from that, the government engaged scientists, AI specialists, and roadmap 2021-2025 involved in science, technology, and innovation departments of which they were also consulted.

On the other hand, Zambry indicated that the JMU 2024 was meant to circulate information about the Education programs offered by the institutions under the ministry’s control: thereby, government-sponsored universities, private institutions of higher education, technical and vocational colleges, and community colleges are also supported. Skills development centers also benefit from the same government support.

He said that JMU 2024 will be held in 10 zones from today until June 9, such as Universiti Putra Malaysia, Universiti Malaysia Kelantan, UiTM branches in Sabah and Sarawak, and universities in Kedah.

Disclaimer. The information provided is not trading advice. Cryptopolitan.com holds no liability for any investments made based on the information provided on this page. We strongly recommend independent research and/or consultation with a qualified professional before making any investment decision.

Share link:

Benson Mawira

Benson is a blockchain reporter who has delved into industry news, on-chain analysis, non-fungible tokens (NFTs), Artificial Intelligence (AI), etc.His area of expertise is the cryptocurrency markets, fundamental and technical analysis.With his insightful coverage of everything in Financial Technologies, Benson has garnered a global readership.

Most read

Loading Most Read articles...

Stay on top of crypto news, get daily updates in your inbox

Related News

Subscribe to CryptoPolitan